This is the NC Department of Justice approved NC Conceal Carry class required to obtain an NC Conceal Carry Permit. The class runs 8+ hours of classroom lecture and study followed by shooting handguns at the shooting range after successfully passing a written exam. This class is also recognized by Virginia for Virginia residents to get their Virginia Conceal Carry Permit.
The classroom phase covers the laws governing self defense, deadly force and firearm ownership. This class teaches you the legalities of when you can use deadly force. I talk about actual criminal cases involving people who have used a firearm in self defense, what happened to them during the police investigation and what happened during the criminal court trial when the District Attorney didn’t believe their case was self defense. I tell you how much it costs to defend a self defense case, and what the juries have come back with. I will tell you about things you have not thought about before coming to a class that will allow you to carry a concealed handgun. Not many other instructors can tell you what to expect once you use deadly force like I can.
I talk about where you can and cannot carry a concealed handgun and what your responsibilities are when traveling out of state. I go over the various types of handguns and ammo and how handguns operate.
Firing range procedure and safety are discussed before leaving the class room. Once on the range, procedure and safety are again discussed. Firearm safety on the range is my number one consideration.
At the indoor range you will be firing a total of 30 rounds from 3, 5 & 7 yards at a silhouette target. Your shots must hit the silhouette so you can qualify to receive your certificate.
I have had people send me emails asking why my Conceal Carry Class costs more than others they find on the internet. I wasn’t aware my classes were any more than others. There is a saying “you get what you pay for and pay for what you get”. More than that there are a couple of reasons. First, in my class you get what we call the “Red Book”. This is the Conceal Carry instruction book written by the people at Department Of Justice. This book goes into all of the laws concerning deadly force. In my class you get this book, it is yours to write in and take home. I understand not all instructors give you this book to take home as a cost cutting measure. Second, as I have already said, I can tell you things about what can and will happen when you pull the trigger that others cannot tell you about from first hand trial experience.
As noted, if you don’t own a handgun I will supply one with ammo. NO SINGLE ACTION REVOLVERS ALLOWED IN THIS CLASS!
Cost: $114.00 with your gun and ammo, $164.00 if you use my gun and ammo. A one year membership to an indoor range comes with this class.